North rivers. The entire cost to the Commission of these storage works has been about \$9,000,000 and the annual revenue exceeds \$670,000.

Other reservoirs on the Gatineau, Lièvre, and Mattawin rivers which are the property of the Commission and are operated by that body have been built and paid for by the benefiting companies instead of being financed by the Commission.

Provincial Electricity Board.—Created by an Act passed at the 1937 session of the Legislature (1 Geo. VI, c. 25), the Provincial Electricity Board superseded, with wider powers, the former Quebec Electricity Commission which operated from Dec. 2, 1935, to Aug. 31, 1937. The new Board is given power to control undertakings for the production, sale, and distribution of electricity in the province, to fully investigate the property and accounts of such undertakings, to alter and cancel abusive contracts, and to fix rates for the sale of electricity based upon the value of physical assets and reasonable expenses of an undertaking. All electrical undertakings in the province are to operate under licence from the Board, such licences to remain in force for two years. The duration of all contracts for the distribution of electricity is limited to five years. The Act does not apply to municipal corporations which have established an electricity service, except that such corporations may benefit by the provisions for obtaining revision of an abusive contract.

National Electricity Syndicate.—Created by an Act of the 1937 Legislature (1 Geo. VI, c. 24), the Syndicate is intended to develop electricity-generating plants and distributing systems in the province. The Syndicate may establish its undertakings by one or both of two methods: first, by funds advanced by the Provincial Government; secondly, by the issue of stock or debentures of which the Provincial Government is to purchase at least 60 p.c. to give it a controlling interest. The Act authorizes the Syndicate to use the first method to develop generating plants and distributing systems in the electoral districts of Abitibi, Timiskaming, Lake St. John, and Roberval, and for this purpose authorizes an advance to the Syndicate of \$10,000,000 which may be subsequently increased by the Legislature. No further alienation or extension of leases previously granted on water-power sites of over 300 h.p., capacity may be granted without consent of the Legislature. The Act also permits the Government to contribute up to 55 p.c. of the cost of an electricity distributing system established by any rural municipality.

Nova Scotia.—The development of water powers within the province of Nova Scotia was initiated under the Acts of 1914 and carried on in an investigatory manner in co-operation with the Dominion Government until 1919, when the Nova Scotia Power Commission was created under the Power Commission Act. The Commission consists of three members, two of whom may be members and one of whom shall be a member of the Executive Council. Although the Commission has its own Department of Investigation, certain investigatory work is still carried on in Nova Scotia by the Dominion Government represented by a branch of the Dominion Water and Power Bureau with which the Nova Scotia Power Commission is closely associated, although a separate entity.

The function of the Commission is primarily generation of electric power and energy by the most economical means available that is practically suited to the case under consideration. Its operations are carried out on a cost basis and, while a considerable number of retail customers are served, it is not the policy to compete in the retail field, but rather to serve those districts where it is not practicable to receive service from other sources. The Rural Electrification Act of 1937 greatly increased the possibilities for retail service and full advantage is being taken of this legislation by residents in various parts of the province.